Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve been in Brasov for a month. When did time start moving so fast? Can I stay longer, please?

So, how does one successfully wrap up a month as great as the one I just had? With dancing, of course!

Okay, in order for you to understand the magnitude of what I am about to say about my 3:30 am bed time last Friday night, I have to start with a confession. Remember that time in my About Me section when I told you I was exciting and didn’t cuddle up on the couch with a good book and Sleepytime Tea on Friday nights? Well, I lied because I totally do. And I’m not ashamed.

But let’s not misunderstand each other. I go out with my friends just as much as I drink Sleepytime Tea. It’s just that when I go out, I cringe when my friends tell me we are going to meet in a bar at 11:00 pm. 11:00 pm?! I thought I was going to be in bed by that time! (Sometimes I wonder what went wrong in my development… I obviously skipped the important stage of being twenty-two when you’re supposed to love bopping to overplayed music in a bar at 2 am.) I, unlike normal twenty-somethings, like meeting my friends out at 8:00 pm (maybe 9:00, but let’s not push it) and be home back by midnight (maybe 1:00 am, but again, not trying to get crazy or anything). So I usually gather the few friends I have who are like me, we meet up early, the others come around 11, we overlap for an hour or two, and then the early birds make a quick escape.

Why do I do this? Well, for a plethora of reasons. Stay with me, you crazy party people.

1) I like being able to talk to my friends when I go out with them, which is impossible after about midnight, when the bar is too loud and some rando is standing in the middle of your friend group because it’s so crowded that you’re lucky if you have a patch of ground to claim as yours, even if your friends have somehow been pushed to the other side of the room and you now have to bop in a corner by yourself because unless you decide to crowd surf, there is no way of getting to them.

2) I don’t want to stand in line to get into a bar because it’s so crowded, or, worse, push my way to the bar for an hour to get a drink. (I’d recommend going ahead and getting two drinks–you’ll probably never get to the bar again. Double fisting it is fine in critical situations, right? At least I end up looking more hard core than I actually am…)

3) I don’t like sleeping half the day away after staying out late. And choosing between 5 hours of sleep or going out earlier, I choose the latter.

So, since you are now quite familiar with my grandmother-like bedtime tendencies, you’ll be really proud of me when I tell you that I was out until 3:30 am last Friday night. And, as a result of this night and a few others like it, I have to take back my rant and admit that on certain occasions, nights, when all of the horrible things I mentioned above happen, can still be incredibly fun. Because guess what? You don’t need to talk to your friends when you are too busy dancing!

After several attempts of finding a bar that stayed opened past midnight, we came across Club Oldies Studio 80. The bar was the perfect amount of crowded, the music was awesome (oldies, anyone?) and there was, of course, some serious dancing going on. A little bit of salsa, a little bit of the twist, a little bit of swing. In fact, to be quite frank, there was so much dancing that my neck was sore the next morning from some weird dance move I don’t remember doing.

So what I have I learned? Maybe that instead of writing off 3:00 am nights, I just need to loosen up and let the night happen because it may result in an unintentional dance party? Or maybe, on some nights, when the right people align with the right bar

and the right atmosphere, late nights are fun. Ultimately, I think I’ve learned that I’ve had to make an addendum to the previously stated rules of my sanity: all of the above let’s-never-go-out-past-1am can be ignored when it comes to a night of dancing.

So if you like to dance, I recommend you celebrate your first month in Brasov (or any day that you are lucky enough to spend in Brasov) at Studio 80s. It rocks.