Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Since my parents are German, I guess I can’t technically say that American blood runs through my veins. However, I was born and raised in the United States, which I hope entitles me to some Americanisms.

One of these Americanisms is Halloween. Because isn’t it every little girls’ dream to dress up like a princess? Okay, okay, in my case it was an octopus, a costume that reappeared three times in my Halloween career, but who’s counting?

20121102-173150.jpg

There are three things, as a Halloween veteran, that I’ve learned over the years. The first is that I will never be too old to don a costume and a) find a party to attend or b) find ways to spook trick-or-treaters. (I don’t want to brag, but my sister and I were somewhat renowned in our neighborhood growing up for being a house full of unexpected tricks.) The second is that I don’t believe in slutty costumes. (If I wanted to be slutty, I’d find a way to do it the other 364 days of the year, but no need to debase yourself on one day because that’s what’s expected.) And the third is that you can find Halloween spirit anywhere—there will always be someone else who’s looking for a reason to celebrate in costume! (And, to add a fourth, I won’t lie when I say that there’s no Halloween like a Halloween on Franklin Street in Chapel Hill.)

So this year, despite the fact that I didn’t have my eight-armed octopus at my disposal (and wasn’t making my way through the crowds on Franklin), I didn’t let that get in the way of a small celebration.

In a country that is known for its vampires, Romania did not disappoint in Halloween spirit. In the high school where I teach, one of my students carved a pumpkin for me, which added a little Halloween spook to an impromptu apple-crumble baking party at our volunteer office later that afternoon. Another student gave me a necklace with Halloween charms and two pins: a pumpkin and a cat (if not before, I feel like a successful teacher! They like me!). I, in turn, rewarded them with a plastic pumpkin filled with candy for every scary play they acted out. I’d like to think that they now fully embrace the concept of Halloween… (but who wouldn’t want candy?!)

As for the evening, all of the volunteers got dressed up and found a Halloween party to attend in the center of Brasov at the Vintage Pub. There’s nothing like ten dancing Black Swan ballerinas and some very unique looking monsters to qualify this Halloween as a success.

And now that this scary holiday has once again come and gone, and I am proud to say that despite what I’ve heard about vampires haunting the Transylvanian countryside, I remain a sun-loving, blood-loathing human, unscathed and ready for a new adventure. (And I’m excited that in just a few weeks time I can start listening to Christmas music…)20121102-172751.jpg