Tags

, , , , ,

Dear world-wanderers: In order for you to fully appreciate my adventurous weekends, I first feel the need to enlighten you about public transportation in Romania.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but usually, if you have the choice between riding a train or taking a bus, you would choose to ride the train. It has the ability to get you places much faster, with more comfort, and thus you end up well-rested and with 3+ hours to spare at your travel destination.

Well, in Romania, things are a little bit different, and there are a few key factors that you may want to remember for your fast-approaching trip here (because I know that since reading my blog you feel the need to come here as soon as possible…). While prices of trains are sometimes surprisingly cheaper than bus prices (though not always), I would gladly argue that most cars here are faster than the trains. The trains have very round-about ways of getting to their final destinations, thus forcing the ever-weary traveler to give up a train’s comfort for the rickety backseat of a minibus, squashed between window and passenger, hoping not to get carsick in the curvy mountain roads of the Transylvanian Alps.

The nice advantage of opting for the Minibus travel option is not only its attempt at punctuality, but also that you can tell the driver if there is a specific location where you would like to be dropped off. For example, when traveling from Brasov to Bucharest last weekend, I needed to get off at Otopeni International Airport, where the Minibus normally does not have a stop. However, since it is just outside of Bucharest, the Minibus dropped me off right in front of the departures area. The cost of the trip was 45 lei ($12.00 or 10 Euro), and the trip took a little over 2 hours.

Getting from Otopeni International Airport back to Brasov is a different story. Since the Minibus doesn’t have a stop at the airport, I had to make my way to the Bucharest train station, Gara Nord, and from there I took a train back to Brasov (55 lei, or $15, 12 Euro). Because I was in a rush and nervous about missing my train, I took a taxi: Big Mistake. The airport taxis rip you off, charging more than 3 lei per kilometer, while normal Bucharest taxis charge less than 1.50 lei per kilometer. So, as a smart traveler, I’d suggest you take the bus or the express train from the airport to the city and look up times on the internet before hand. It takes about an hour, depending on traffic. (The taxi did get me there in under thirty minutes, so I’m unconvincingly trying to tell myself the extra money spent was worth it.)

As for things you can expect on both a minibus and on a train? At stops, gypsies and other people may get on and beg for money or will try to sell you books, toys, chocolate candy bars, or other little knickknacks that are supposed to ease your long journey. While trains are supposed to be non-smoking, a bribe can bend all rules, so those that need to smoke will find a way. As for the minibus– there are calculated stops for smoking, which, I’ve learned, is a Romanian’s favorite past-time.

Happy travels!