Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I can’t help it. I really can’t. It’s a sickness that I fear can only be assuaged by time-travel. It’s a yearning that’s trapped deep inside my mind. It’s the ultimate wish I have to live the much romanticized ex-pat writer’s life in France. Folks, the 1920s are forever calling my name.

Remember that time I brought a slight awareness to my love of the 1920s? Well, so the love continues. I just can’t seem to get enough.

You heard it here first: one or two days in Brasov aren’t enough to experience all of the wonderful things you can do here, or to explore all of the venues and activities this up-and-coming city has to offer. So, while I offer you yet another wonderful place to spend your evening, I recommend this petit place especially should you find yourself in Brasov on a Tuesday or Friday evening, when sweet jazz tunes, such as Brubecks’ Take 5, fill the air. This gem of a place, Festival 39, is complete with an art deco decor, comfortable living-room style furniture, German writing on the walls (think Marlene Dietrich), and, in true jazz-club fashion, a smokey interior. Add a wicked good mojito to the mix, second best only to the minty goodness offered at Kasho Lounge, and you’ve got yourself a pretty good evening.

So yes, I supposed you could say that I’m a little bit obsessed with the 1920s. But only in the best possible way. And it is totally for your benefit. Because maybe you would have otherwise walked by this slightly hidden pub, and never known about it’s cozy and unique atmosphere. And, an important pointer: get there early. It fills up quickly on jazz nights.